Subscribe to our HortNews newsletter

The Future Food Awards 2019 is now open for entries


The Future Food Awards are here to celebrate, support and offer invaluable opportunities to inspirational businesses and showcase the innovation taking place across the industry, from food and drink to packaging and technology.

The awards are the brainchild of Holly Shackleton, editor of Speciality Food – the biggest trade magazine in the fine food sector – and Sue Nelson, founder of The FoodTalk Show – a dedicated podcast enjoyed around the world. They have joined forces to merge the New Producer Awards and The FoodTalk Awards in order to offer the industry a pioneering awards scheme to benefit and promote both the companies at the heart of food and drink innovation and the industry at large.

The Awards have nine categories including Young Producer, Drink Innovation, Mission Driven and Technology, giving food and drink businesses ranging from small-scale producers to technology-driven innovators their time in the spotlight.

Holly Shackleton commented: “The food industry is a hugely exciting place to be right now, and I can’t wait to delve deeper into the world of innovation and new businesses thanks to the Future Food Awards.”

Sue Nelson added: “We want to encourage innovation across all categories and I’m so happy to be working with the experienced and enthusiastic team at Speciality Food Magazine. I can’t wait for the entries to arrive!”

A panel of judges boasting legendary founders and industry experts will whittle the entries down to unveil a winner from each category. These winners, who will then pitch to the full panel of prestigious judges at Bread & Jam – the UK’s first food founders’ festival, held on Thursday 3rd October 2019 at the Institute of Directors in London’s Pall Mall – for a chance to be named the Supreme Champion of the Future Food Awards.

All finalists will be presented with trophies, promotion in Speciality Food and prime slots on The FoodTalk Show – not to mention money-can’t-buy access to some of the most revered professionals in the UK’s food and drink industry.

Jason Gibb, founder of Bread & Jam said: “It is an exciting year to be part of the Future Food Awards as they are opening up to a larger field of inspiring, emerging challenger brands – I’m proud to be on the judging panel of one of the few awards that are free to enter and offer winners such great exposure and support.”

Entries to the Future Food Awards 2019 will close at midnight on 30th June 2019. If your business is a taste of what’s to come in food and drink, enter for free or find out more at

The awards categories

For all categories, the awards are only open to food or foodtech sector businesses that have been trading for two full financial years with the exception of the Newcomer and Young Producer award:

Young Producer – 5 finalists

A company headed by a founder or co-founder that is aged 25 years or under

Newcomer – 5 finalists

A company that has been trading less than two years

Mission-driven – 4 finalists

A company that is a CIC, social enterprise, charity or has profit for purpose at its heart

Farm-to-fork – 4 finalists

A company that champions or delivers traceable provenance from supply to the end consumer without the addition of unnecessary preservatives or additives

Food Innovation – 5 finalists

A food product that shows real innovation in their category using unusual ingredients or combinations or removing allergens without sacrificing quality or taste

Drink Innovation – 5 finalists

A beverage, soft or alcoholic drink that shows real innovation in their category using unusual ingredients or combinations or removing allergens without sacrificing quality or taste

Food Packaging – 4 finalists

Innovative packaging that delivers or protects food or drink products whether for retail, delivery or takeaway

Technology – 4 finalists

Smart gadgets, innovative apps or technology that makes cooking, preparing or analysing food easy to understand or use

Impossible to Categorise – 4 finalists

A company innovating in the food sector and making an important contribution that just doesn’t fit into the other award categories